Blogging about the 5x NL East Champion Phillies

Tag Archives: umpire

Papelbon Sounds Off After Tough Loss

Dodgers 4, Phillies 3
WP – Ronals Belisario (1-0, 1.26)
LP – Jonathan Papelbon (0-2, 2.31)
SV – Kenley Jansen (7)

PHILADELPHIA — Poor umpiring had a lot to do with the Phillies dropping a third straight game.

It also had a lot to do with why Jonathan Papelbon was upset in the 9th inning and after the Phillies tough 4-3 loss to open a four-game series against the Dodgers.

Papelbon though he had struck out Dee Gordon, the lead-off hitter in the 9th inning of a 3-3 ballgame. But home plate umpire D.J. Reyburn called a ball on the 1-2 count, extending the at-bat.

On the very next pitch, Gordon lined a ball into the gap in right center, going to third on a lead-off triple. He scored on Andre Ethier’s RBI single the very next at-bat to give the Dodgers the 4-3 lead.

Papelbon sounded off at Reyburn, who was called up from the Triple A to umpire in the Majors, but wasn’t ejected. Papelbon then proceeded to sound off on Reyburn after the game in front of reporters.

Read more of this post


Manuel Suspended One Game

Phillies manager Charlie Manuel was suspended one game for his altercation with home plate umpire Bob Davidson in the 8th inning on Tuesday’s game against Arizona.

Manuel will serve his one-game suspension tonight against the Red Sox.

Davidson was also¬†suspended one game as well for his “repeated violations of the Office of the Commissioner’s standards for situation handling.”

Poor Umpiring Costs Phillies In 7th

Phillies manager Charlie Manuel argues with home plate umpire Rob Drake over balls and strikes in the 1st inning. Manuel was ejected. (AP Photo/Richard Lipski)

The game never should have gone 11 innings because it should have been over after nine.

An embarrassing display of umpiring in the 7th inning cost the Phillies an important fourth run. Instead, they wound up losing 4-3 in 11 innings, and dropping the first of a three-game series to Washington.

The Phillies were robbed twice in the same at-bat of an insurance run in the 7th inning while maintaining a 3-2 lead after the Nats added another run in the 5th.

With one out and Shane Victorino on second, Carlos Ruiz ripped a base hit over the third base bag. But because umpire Joe West was sick, the officiating crew was short one man and home plate umpire Rob Drake ruled it a foul ball.

Later in Ruiz’s at-bat, Victorino attempted to steal third but was called out despite the replays showed he was safe. Ruiz then roped a liner into right field that would have scored Victorino.

Read more of this post