Blogging about the 5x NL East Champion Phillies

Category Archives: Gold Glove

Phillies SS Jimmy Rollins Wins 4th Gold Glove

Photo via egraphs

In a season filled with losing, Jimmy Rollins was a winner.

The 33-year-old short stop has won his fourth career Gold Glove award, his first since winning from 2007-09.

Rollins posted a .978 fielding percentage, the highest among short stops in all of baseball. His 13 errors in 594 chances gave him the lowest total among short stops with at least 500 attempts.

Rollins’ four Gold Gloves rank him third in Phillies history. He stands behind 10-time winner Mike Schmidt at third base and eight-time winner Garry Maddox in the outfield.

Rollins beat out Miami’s Jose Reyes, Washington’s Ian Desmond and Cincinnati’s Zach Cozart.

Catcher Carlos Ruiz was a finalist for the NL Gold Glove but lost out to Yadier Molina of the Cardinals.


Polanco lone Phil to take home the Gold Glove

Phillies third baseman Placido Polanco was the sole Phillie to take home the Gold Glove award.

Polanco, who won his third Gold Glove, became the second player in Major League history to win the award at two different positions (Darin Erstad as an outfielder and first baseman).

Center fielder Shane Victorino was a finalist but lost out to Los Angeles Dodger Matt Kemp. The voting format switched to picking a left, center and right fielder as opposed to picking three outfielders like years past.

Here are the winners in both leagues: Read more of this post

Victorino Snags Only GG for Phils

Shane Victorino is the first Phillie to take home hardware his off season, winning his third career Rawlings Gold Glove Award today. Chase Utley, Placido Polanco, and Carlos Ruiz were all considerations for their positions but failed to take home the hardware.

Former Phil, Scott Rolen, won his eighth career award and his firs as a member of Cincy and first since 2006. Rolen won four with the Phils and three with the Cardinals.

Rollins, Victorino Win Gold Glove

Jimmy Rollins and Shane Victorino were awarded the Gold Glove award today. Chase Utley was screwed out of his Gold Glove, losing to Orlando Hudson of the Dodgers, who play significantly less games than Utley. The award was Rollins’ third and Victorino’s second. Rollins was the first short stop in the NL to win three consecutive Gold Gloves since Rey Ordonez and Victorino is first Phillies outfielder since Gary Maddox to win consecutive awards.

Here are the winners in the National League:

P) Adam Wainwright – St. Louis, 1st
C) Yadier Molina – St. Louis, 2nd
1B) Adrian Gonzalez – San Dego, 2nd
2B) Orlando Hudson – Los Angeles, 4th
3B) Ryan Zimmerman – Washington, 1st
SS) Jimmy Rollins – Philadelphia, 3rd
OF) Shane Victorino – Philadelphia, 2nd
OF) Michael Bourn – Houston, 1st
OF) Matt Kemp – Los Angeles, 1st

Discuss it here.