TTB

Blogging about the 5x NL East Champion Phillies

Victorino talks upcoming free agency

(AP Photo/Matt Slocum)

Shane Victorino talked to reporters today, clarifying his desires this upcoming off season where the 31-year-old centerfielder will be a free agent.

Victorino stressed that he doesn’t really want to play the free agent market, instead focusing on remaining a Phillie.

Yesterday, Victorino told reporters that he is looking for a five-year deal. Today, he seemed to back off on that sentiment just a little bit, showing that he’s open to flexibility on his end of the negotiations.

“I’d like to (sign a five-year deal),” Victorino said this morning. “I’m not saying this will be my last one. It might be. Who knows? What I’m saying is, why not finish it here? I made it seem like I want a five-year deal, but I’d love to stay.”

Victorino also added, “Basically, what I want, I’d like to get something done now rather than later,” Victorino said. “That’s what the basis of this whole thing is. I want to do something now, to see if we can come to terms on something. I’m not saying I don’t want to hit free agency. Free agency is what every athlete dreams of, maximizing their value.

“So why would I want to avoid that chance? Why not maximize what I have now, what’s laid out in front of me? An opportunity to play for a winning team that I’ve been a part of. That’s what I’m trying to get at. I’m not saying I’m going to get a five-year deal. I mean, who knows? Who says I can’t get a seven-year deal? I don’t know.”

Last season, Victorino enjoyed another good season, hitting .279 with a career high 16 homers as well as driving in 61 RBIs. Victorino also led the league in triples with 16, the second time in his career he led the league in that stat.

Leave a Reply

