Blogging about the 5x NL East Champion Phillies

Phils struck out at Silver Slugger for second straight year

For the second straight year, not a single Phillie won a National League Silver Slugger Award.

Outfielders Hunter Pence and Shane Victorino would have been likely candidates but they were bested by MVP candidates Ryan Braun of the Brewers and Matt Kemp of the Dodgers. Cliff Lee was also a hopeful because of his two homers but Arinzona’s Daniel Hudson took it home.

Kemp, Colorado short stop Troy Tulowitzki, Cincy second baseman Brandon Phillips, and Boston center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury all won a Gold Glove and Silver Slugger Award

Here are your 2011 AL and NL Silver Slugger winners (Shout out to Philliedelphia‘s @xochristinaxo for Tweeting the winners while I was at work without MLB Network):

C Alex Avila – Detroit
1B Adrian Gonzalez – Boston
2B Robinson Cano – NY Yankees
3B Adrian Beltre – Texas
SS Asdrubal Cabrera – Cleveland
OF Curtis Granderson – NY Yankees
OF Jacoby Ellsbury – Boston
OF Jose Bautista – Toronto
DH David Ortiz – Boston

C Brian McCann – Atlanta
1B Prince Fielder – Milwaukee
2B Brandon Phillips – Cincinnati
3B Aramis Ramirez – Chicago (N)
SS Troy Tulowitzki – Colorado
OF Ryan Braun – Milwaukee
OF Matt Kemp – LA Dodgers
OF Justin Upton – Arizona
P Daniel Hudson – Arizona


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: