TTB

Blogging about the 5x NL East Champion Phillies

A letter from Jayson Werth’s beard

By now I’m sure all of you are aware of one of the greatest accounts on Twitter, @JWerthsBeard. And if not, you must be living under a rock.

But that’s okay. After the Phillies sweep of the Nationals and Jayson Werth’s return to Philadelphia, his Beardedness decided to address the fans.

DISCLAIMER: [@JWerthsBeard bio] The views & opinions expressed on this twitter do not reflect those held by Jayson Werth. I am just his beard.

Dear Philadelphia Phillies fans,

Between the boos, cheers, standing ovations, unimaginative signs, and obscene chants, you all pretty much had everything covered this week.  Note: to lame guy with the “Nice Beard, stupid” sign and anyone who used a Werth pun in theirs, you are dead to me. 

So what did this all mean to me?  Well, I was only brought to Philadelphia as the epic beard that you all grew to love in 2010, so I was not able to be a part of Jayson’s entire journey in Philadelphia, unfortunately.  I’d like to think that many of those cheers were for me, but that is something that only you all will know. 

While it was nice to see some familiar faces (kind of bummed I didn’t get to meet Raul’s beard though), I am glad the series is over.  As my owner has repeatedly said, that chapter of our lives is over, so hopefully this series brought everyone closure.  I’d like to thank the fans and the Phillies organization for not selling me out like some other MLB beards…*coughbrianwilsoncough*  It was a shame that I never got a bobblebeard day though, but luckily the Nationals have one lined up for me this season.

With that said, he kind of took it easy on you guys this week, so I look forward to the next time we meet, as I sense he will give you more to boo about.

Till we meet again,

Jayson Werth’s Beard

P.S.  The Phillies are blessed to have such a great rotation (which could end up to be historic) that sports facial hair equally as great, so please enjoy the ride while it lasts.  Once Strasburg & the Strasbeard! return, Harper arrives, and the Nationals sign Prince Fielder, you will not be laughing at my owner much longer! CHEERS! ;)

P.P.S. Get well soon, Joe Blanton!

One response to “A letter from Jayson Werth’s beard

  1. Pingback: Game 27: “Natitude!”: A Letter From @JWerthsBeard « TTB

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,626 other followers

